Potty Training Anxiety

Standard

I have decided that next Sunday is the day for starting potty training.  This completely freaks me out. I have no problem with changing diapers until Brandon is ready and begging to use the potty, but, unfortunately, his pre-school requires that he be potty trained when he starts in August.  So this is putting a lot of pressure on us.  I, honestly, do not think he is ready, but I don’t know what else to do.  We are starting on Sunday and I am just praying (very literally here) that he will take to it and there will be no problems.  I post this as a public plea for both your prayers and advice.  I have NO idea how to do this!  If there was a service that came out and potty trained your child for you, I would pay good money for it.  So, please, send me your words of encouragement and any advice you may have…I am open to anything. 

Your desperate and panicked friend,

 Andi

3 responses »

  1. does he hate being dirty? my sister in law (jackie) let baby jack wear regular underwear one day and he had a few accidents before he learned he didn’t like being wet and started using the potty. worked like a charm. not saying this will work for evreyone, but it’s worth a try. she claims that pull ups make it harder to potty train b/c they can still use it like a diaper. my other sister in law, april, gave suckers for successful potties. there’s my words of advice….and with that i leave you with a GOOD LUCK! i’m not looking forward to that part of my child’s life either…

  2. I would try potty training rewards. This worked great for our son. He love pushing the button hearing he is a Big Boy and opening a door to find a chocolate surprise. He really became involved. He was peeing and pooping in his potty within a week. I know every child is different, but have a look and see if this would work for you. http://www.pottytrainingrewards.com

  3. I would put him in underwear if you are at home. He might get the association that way. I also used stickers, m & m’s, skittles, and sometimes lollipops after she went or even tried. She loved the sticker chart. Good luck! Call me if you need to vent.

Leave a Reply

