Another Doctor Appointment…

Standard

…but this time I do have some news.  If I do not go into labor before then, I will be induced next Tuesday morning.  I assume it will be the same as last time, so I will have the baby mid-afternoon, except this time I want my epidural as early as possible.  My curiosity of what a contraction really feels like was definitely satisfied last time, not to mention, Joe is pretty much insisting that I not wait this time after having to put me in a headlock last time to get the needle in.  So, I am relieved to have a plan, even if I go into labor sooner, so I don’t feel like it is going to go on forever.

I was thinking about how different women are when they invision the delivery process.  For example, I know Ashley did not want to be induced and, unfortunately, Owen felt otherwise.  I, on the other hand, can think of nothing better than to go in on a planned date.  My doctor asked if I wanted to go into labor on my own or be induced and she barely finished the sentence before I answered.   

I have also decided that the dicomfort of the last four weeks of pregnancy is God’s way of making a woman willing to go through anything just so it will be over!  This last week my maternity pants have stopped fitting, I have slept about 4 hours a night (total, not consecutive thanks to frequent bathroom visits), and my feet have swollen to 3 times their size.   Luckily the weather is warming up, so I can wear dresses instead of pants and flip flops, since my shoes no longer fit.  My doc said to cut out salty foods and in my mind I thought “So, that leaves ice cream?” 

I will leave you with a couple of cute Brandon stories…right now, he has his cars lined up and is playing drive-thru, which is a testiment to my parenting.  He pulls one up and says “Thank you” and then “Your welcome” and then drives that car to the side and does the next one.  I’m not sure if is bad that he is this familiar with the process, but I figure at least he’s being polite.  I would be really embarrassed if he was being rude to the pretend drive-thru people. 

After we left the doctor, I told Brandon that we were going to get to meet baby sister soon and he was happy that she was going to come play with him. Then right after we got home, the doorbell rang and Brandon got really excited and starting yelling, “Baby Sister’s here!” It was really funny.  I told him I wished that’s how she got here, but that we still had to wait.

4 responses »

  1. Oh my gosh! She’ll be here before we know it. I was thinking you still had a couple of weeks left. I know you are laughing now. 🙂 I know Ella and Emily can’t wait to meet their new friend. Let me know if you need any help with Brandon.

  2. Wow, I can’t believe girl Brandon will be here Tuesday if not before. Don’t hesitate to ask if there is anything you need help with.! We’ll be thinking of you:)

  3. Oh my gosh! I can’t belive that baby girl might be born on my birthday or your birthday!! So soon! I can’t wait to meet her. I’ll get up there as soon as I can and Owen and Girl Brandon can play together. Call or Text me as SOON as you hear something! Love you!! Miss you!! (this is ashley btw, not chris)

Leave a Reply

