Here’s the story…

Standard

Alright, I am going to give a little play-by-play because it is very cathartic (and fun) to share your birthing story. 

Monday, March 23: We spent the day getting ready for Lexi, running errands and taking some pregnant pictures.  My feet swelled up so bad that I couldn’t bend my ankles and it was really depressing. I’m so glad that part is over!

Tuesday, March 24th

2 am: I woke up and could not go back to sleep because I felt like I was having contractions and had to go to the bathroom every 15 minutes.  I was so mad because I wanted just one more solid nights sleep before the baby came and I didn’t get to sleep again for months.

5 am: I finally gave up and got up to get ready to go to the hospital.

6:15 am: Joe and I got to the hospital and checked in (15 minutes late, which made me crazy). My mom stayed with Brandon so she could take him to school. We decided that he didn’t need to be there the whole day and I didn’t want him to miss speech. 

7 am: The nurses gave me my IV and patosin (I am not even attempting to spell that right) and called the anesthesiologist for my epidural.

7:15 am: The anesthesiologist (my hero) came in and we filled him in on the problems I had when I had Brandon. If you haven’t heard the story, then you probably haven’t met me, but just in case here is the RD version. In the 30 minutes it took to get my epidural I progressed from a 3 to a 10, so I was having full contractions.  Joe had to put me in a head lock, literally, to hold me still and the doctor was yelling at us. He had to redo the needle 3 times and when he was done, he said it was the hardest one he has ever done. So, I was more nervous about getting my epidural this time than I was the actual delivery.  This time, the doctor was an older, experienced man and he was wonderful! He was real soothing and seemed to think it was really weird that the other guy would have had any problems.  He got the needle in on the first try with no discomfort and then stayed and chatted to make sure the medicine kicked in. He said it was one of the easiest epidurals he had ever done!

7:45 am: Life is good!  The patosin really started working and my contractions started but I didn’t feel a thing. My doctor came in and said that they would probably break my water around lunch time.

8:15 am: The nurse checked my progress and was surprised that I had already progressed almost to a 4 so she went and got the doctor,

8:20 am: My doc decided to go ahead and break my water and found out that I had already progressed another centimeter since the nurse had checked.  They both told me to try and take a nap while I waited to get to a 10, which I knew was going to happen too fast for me to get any sleep.

9:00 am: My mom got there after dropping off Brandon and we started getting really excited.

9:33 am: My sisters and Dad arrived from Dallas.  They left at 4 am to make sure that they made it in time.  I was feeling a little nauseated from the meds so I had to lay on my side with a washcloth on my head while we visited.  Everyone was really excited and kept pacing back and forth which made me feel so much worse, so we had a strict sit-still-or-else rule if you were in my line of site.

10:40 am: I felt a little cramp that I thought was weird so I called the nurse.  She checked me and was very suprised that I was already to a 10 and told me  not to push!  She started setting up for the doctor to come in.

11:00 am: The doctor came in and had me start pushing.

11:05 am: Lexi made her debut after only 5 pushes total.  She was much bigger than we had expected, 8 lbs 3 oz, a full pound bigger than Brandon was. Everyone wondered where she was hiding, because I never got very big…I said that’s why I have been so uncomfortable! She has a full head of dark hair and was solid fat rolls!  It all happened so fast it took me a minute for it all to sink in.  I told Joe it was a slap in Mother Nature’s face not to have more kids, because it was so easy for me…the doctor and nurse just laughed and said if we had a 3rd Joe would need to learn how to deliver at home!

When Brandon came in to meet Lexi he was very excited but did not want to get on the bed with me and didn’t want to hold or touch her, which was probably best since he had just come from school.  On Thursday he took a brag book to school with pictures of Lexi and showed his teachers and his friends.  So far, he has been really good with her.  He likes to help Gigi and Mommy get things for Lexi and if she cries he comes running into the room to see “What happened?” He still doesn’t touch or hold her, but he likes to look at her.  We were trying to wake Lexi up to eat yesterday and Brandon said, “Wake up Lexi, it’s time to eat. Mmm-mm.” It was really cute.  We aren’t sure if Brandon is confused or just pretending, but with Gigi he insists that there are 2 babies, Baby Sister and Lexi. He said Baby Sister is in Mommy’s tummy and Lexi is here.  When my mom said Baby Sister came out of Mommy’s tummy Brandon thought about it and decided that Baby Sister was in the car.  He refused to give Lexi her hat earlier because it was Baby Sister’s hat. We aren’t sure what to do about this, but hopefully it will click with enough time.

One response »

  1. Congrats Andi! You really make this whole delivery thing seem like a simple process. 🙂 We are happy to hear that Lexi is here and healthy.

Leave a Reply

